MPRC Appoints Three New Board Members

KUALA LUMPUR, May 10 2021 — Malaysia Petroleum Resources Corporation (MPRC), an industry development agency under the Economic Planning Unit, Prime Minister’s Department, announces today the addition of three new members to its Board of Directors. These seasoned executives bring deep experience in oil and gas industry combined with extensive leadership across the oil and gas value chain and public sector.

“We are delighted to welcome Datuk N. Rajendran, Juniwati Rahmat Hussin and Sofiyan Yahya to MPRC’s Board of Directors. We look forward to continue working closely with the Board led by our chairman Dato’ Dr Ahmad Suhaili Idrus in guiding the leadership team to execute and deliver on our mandate as the industry development agency under EPU,” MPRC’s President and Chief Executive Officer Mohd Yazid Ja’afar said.

These new appointments bring the MPRC Board of Directors to seven members and form part of MPRC’s ongoing strategic effort to provide additional leadership experience to support the organisation’s aspiration for growth.

Brief profile of the three new board members as follows:

Datuk N. Rajendran has over three decades of experiences with MIDA, and has held various positions locally and abroad. He brings extensive experience in investment policy formulation and promotional activities. He was also a forum speaker/panelist for Offshore Technology Conference 2014, Offshore Northern Seas 2016, World Islamic Economic Forum 2017.

Pn. Juniwati Rahmat Hussin has served PETRONAS Group for 35 years in several positions including Vice President & Venture Director of Pengerang Integrated Complex, Vice President of Human Resource Management and Vice President of Education Division. She currently sits on the Board of Tenaga Nasional Berhad as an Independent Non-Executive Director. She is also an Independent Non-Executive Director of DIALOG and a member of Advisory Council for Yayasan Peneraju Pendidikan Bumiputera.

En. Sofiyan Yahya has over 40 years oil and gas industry experiences in various aspects of technical, operational, administration, projects, contractual, business development and senior management locally and abroad. He is currently the Executive Chairman and founder of Cekap Technical Services Sdn. Bhd. En Sofiyan is also the Chief Executive Officer and founder partner of SEAMOG Group Sdn Bhd.