Board of Directors

Malaysia Petroleum Resources Corporation (MPRC) is governed by a Board of Directors whose members include representatives from the Ministry of Economy,  Malaysian Investment Development Authority (MIDA), Malaysia External Trade Development Corporation (MATRADE) and oil & gas industry experts





Dato' Dr. Ahmad Suhaili Idrus has spent nearly three decades in the downstream, and midstream oil and gas industry mainly with Shell. He has served various senior leadership roles at Iskandar Regional Development Authority, PEMANDU and AECOM Malaysia.

He is a Fellow of Chartered Management Institute (UK), Fellow of Institution of Mechanical Engineering (UK) and Member Institute of Engineers Malaysia.

Dato’ Dr. Suhaili holds a Doctor in Business Administration (DBA) from Asia e University, MBA from University of Malaya and a BSc (Hons) in mechanical engineering from the University of Manchester Institute of Science & Technology.

Non-independent, non-executive director

Dr. Mohd Shaharin Haji Umar is a Director of Regional Development Division at the Ministry of Economy. In a career spanning more than two decades, he has vast experience working in government ministries/agencies specifically in areas related to energy, science and technology as well as social sector.

Dr. Mohd Shaharin’s forays in the Ministry's Energy and Social Services Divisions have seen him contributing to the preparation of the 11th Malaysia Plan, 2015-2020 and the 12th Malaysia Plan, 2021-2025. On many occasions, he has advised the former Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Economy) on international oil and gas ministerial level forums including OPEC and non-OPEC, Gas Exporting Countries Forum (GECF), International Energy Forum (IEF), Malaysia-Thailand Joint Authority (MTJA) and other oil and gas-related engagements.

Dr. Mohd Shaharin obtained his Ph.D. in Renewable Energy from Murdoch University, Western Australia in 2014. He pursued a Masters in Science and Technology Policy at the University of Manchester in 2004, after graduating from University of Malaya with a degree in Science (Chemistry) in 1995.

Independent, non-executive director

Puan Juniwati Rahmat Hussin has served PETRONAS Group for 35 years in several positions including Vice President & Venture Director of Pengerang Integrated Complex, Vice President of Human Resource Management and Vice President of Education Division. She currently sits on the Board of Tenaga Nasional Berhad as an Independent Non-Executive Director. She is also an Independent Non-Executive Director of DIALOG and a member of Advisory Council for Yayasan Peneraju Pendidikan Bumiputera.

Independent, non-executive director

Datuk N. Rajendran has over three decades of experiences with MIDA and has held various positions locally and abroad. He brings extensive experience in investment policy formulation and promotional activities. He was also a forum speaker/panellist for Offshore Technology Conference 2014, Offshore Northern Seas 2016, World Islamic Economic Forum 2017.

Non-independent, non-executive director

Datuk Mohd Mustafa Abdul Aziz leads the Malaysia External Trade Development Corporation (MATRADE) as the current Chief Executive Officer. His 30-year career in the civil service began with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, followed by the Economic Planning Unit (EPU), Prime Minister's Department (Now known as the Ministry of Economy) before joining MATRADE in June 1994, where he played integral roles in export promotions.

Previously the Deputy CEO (Export Acceleration) of MATRADE, he held various positions within the organisation including leading the markets of ASEAN & Australasia, China & Northeast Asia, Central Asia, West Asia, South Asia & Africa. At present, he is an Adjunct Professor at the Center for International Studies, College of Law, Government and International Studies UUM, Universiti Utara Malaysia. He is also the Advisory Board Member of Malaysian Association of Convention and Exhibition Organisers and Suppliers (MACEOS).


Dato' Nor Eni Ismail has more than two decades of public service experience as a civil service officer in several positions under various ministries and departments including Ministry of Investment, Trade and Industry (MITI), Ministry of Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives (MEDC), the Public Service Department (JPA), the Economic Planning Unit (EPU) of Perak, and Ministry of Finance (MoF).

She currently sits on the Board of Directors of Universiti Utara Malaysia, Perbadanan Insurans Deposit Malaysia and Pelaburan Hartanah Berhad.